No matter where you live in the United States you must have car insurance in order to drive in each state. While every state requires you to have a specific amount of liability insurance the minimum amount for each state is different.
You must be able to produce proof of insurance coverage if you are stopped by a law enforcement officer. Failure to do so could result in a fine, a suspension of your driver’s license and or registration plus your vehicle may be impounded. It would be much smarter to just carry the required amount of car insurance from the start rather than risk the repercussions of what could happen if you are found without it.
When you go to get New Jersey car insurance quotes you should first start by asking your co-workers, friends, and family members where they are getting their car insurance from. If they are happy with their car insurance from newjersey-insurance.net maybe they can provide you with the name and contact information for their insurance agent.
The state of New Jersey requires that you have at least the following liability plan in place:
- $5,000 to cover the damage to another person’s vehicle in the event that you caused the accident.
- $15,000 is to cover the injuries that you or the other person involved in a car accident suffer.
- You must also cover up to $250,000 for severe injuries which would include permanent and severe brain injuries.
This is the minimum amount of coverage that is included in a basic policy. You may always go for more coverage which is what would be included in a standard policy.
You can use your health insurance plan as the main place for your medical insurance in the event of an accident. You cannot use this option if you are on Medicare or Medicaid. If you do decide to use your health insurance it will pay for your medical costs that are up to the amounts of your car insurance policy limits. This will lower your insurance premiums.
There is also a limited right to sue policy which means that you can sue the other person involved in the accident under certain circumstances. You can sue the other person if the injuries result in death, a loss of a body part, major and permanent scarring, permanent injuries, loss of a baby or a fetus and major fractures.